When you get the Extra Attack action, you can break up your movement and attack different targets at varying distances from your starting point.

Does the same apply with TWF? As in, can I approach my first target, use my attack action, then move, and use my bonus action to attack a different target?

From PHB 195:

"When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand."

The key seems to be how to interpret "when:" either "immediately after" or "whenever (during your turn)."


Yes. Because the second attack from TWF is a bonus action, it does not need to be made as part of your regular attack action and you can use movement between them as if it were any other bonus action granted to you. Note that the same goes for the bonus action unarmed attack the monk gets when he makes a melee weapon attack with a monk weapon or an unarmed attack.

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Just clarifying that you can also move between attacks granted by the Attack action if you have more than one (Extra Attack), unless otherwise specified (for example, like with the Hunter Ranger feature: Horde Breaker). \$\endgroup\$ – MrNattious Mar 2 '16 at 7:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MrNattious I didn't think clarification was necessary, since that was the general rule referenced in the question. \$\endgroup\$ – LegendaryDude Mar 2 '16 at 13:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough. I misunderstood where you were speciying about how it was a bonus action as it being the reason you can move between attacks. Re-reading it now, I see it was a bit of a brain fart with reading comprehension on my part :) \$\endgroup\$ – MrNattious Mar 2 '16 at 19:09

Yes you can break up the attacks from Two Weapon Fighting

The rules in the SRD make it clear that this is completely legal:

Moving between Attacks

If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.

Clearly, Two-Weapon Fighting involves more than one weapon attack and thus qualifies to have those attacks broken up with movement in between if so desired.

If that isn't good enough, Jeremy Crawford (official D&D rules guru) has also made it clear that this is correct:

Can 2-weapon fighting bonus action/attack be split up with movement?...

Movement can happen not only before and after an action, but it can also happen between attacks.

Note: I realize this answer comes to the same conclusion as @LegendaryDude, but I felt that the answer would be much improved with the addition of cited sources.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.