2
\$\begingroup\$

Looking at the rules of Sunder, it states that the weapon's damage is reduced by the item's hardness before being applied to the item, and Greater Sunder states that any excess damage is inflicted on the wielder. As such, can someone attempting to Sunder activate their Magic Weapon (such as a flaming short-sword) to inflict extra damage to a weapon, and get a higher possibility of harming the other creature?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, though according to the rules for damaging objects any energy damage is reduced by half before applying to hardness/hp. I don't think there are any specific rules for the order you're required to apply damage in, that would be something to ask your gm.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.