9
\$\begingroup\$

In Numenera, players can apply effort to increase their chance to hit with an attack and/or to increase the damage of the attack.

Thus far, my group has been playing that they can apply the effort to increase damage after making the attack roll and thus knowing that it has connected. I get the feeling however that maybe the players would need to declare before rolling what effort is being applied to the attack and/or damage for the attack, but I can't find a clear ruling in the book. Which scenarios correct?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Before you make the roll.

It's very easy to miss the rule, as it is on page 21, and rarely spoken again through the book.

You don’t have to apply Effort if you don’t want to. If you choose to apply Effort to a task, you must do it before you attempt the roll—you can’t roll first and then decide to apply Effort if you rolled poorly.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also falls under the "use logic" meta-rule: if you want to put effort into something, you'll have to decide before you do it, not after. \$\endgroup\$ – Raphael Apr 16 '16 at 13:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Raphael I was using that logic for all other rolls, but my question was specifically about the increase to damage, which isn't a roll. Also, I know I'm almost a year late replying, but I've just seen the comment now. \$\endgroup\$ – Conor Pender Feb 6 '17 at 16:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ConorPender How is that any different? You make an effort; maybe you feint to get past the defense more easily (= lower difficulty), or you aim at a weak spot or hit harder (= more damage). Either way, it's part of the same action, and you have to decide before you start it. That is, the player has to decide before the roll. \$\endgroup\$ – Raphael Feb 6 '17 at 17:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Raphael That was how I ruled it too, but my players disagreed. I know that as the GM I could just overrule them, but I decided to ask the question and look for other opinions(or rules references). \$\endgroup\$ – Conor Pender Feb 7 '17 at 17:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ConorPender Well, the rules are pretty clear as ShadowKras quotes them: before the roll. Since hitting and damage are the same task in the Cypher system, there is no room in between to do anything. I was just trying to offer logic that explains this. \$\endgroup\$ – Raphael Feb 7 '17 at 17:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.