15
\$\begingroup\$

Related Question: Can magic items that deal fire damage function underwater?

As mentioned in the above question:

From the DMG p93:

Spells or spell-like effects with the fire descriptor are ineffective underwater unless the caster makes a Spellcraft check (DC 20 + spell level). If the check succeeds, the spell creates a bubble of steam instead of its usual fiery effect, but otherwise the spell works as described. A supernatural fire effect is ineffective underwater unless its description states otherwise.

For creatures that have damage reduction x/fire or regenerate damage except that done by fire, do they treat the bubble of steam the same as fire or not? eg Would a Water Troll regenerate damage from a fireball cast underwater?

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

If the check succeeds, the spell creates a bubble of steam instead of its usual fiery effect, but otherwise the spell works as described.

Sounds like fire damage to me, but you're burning them with superheated steam instead of flame.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes. Notably, heat metal doesn't produce a naked flame yet it explicitly says that a creature takes fire damage if its equipment is heated, so as far as the rules are concerned, "really hot" == "fire". \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie May 7 '11 at 16:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.