8
\$\begingroup\$

Can a lycanthrope or other shapeshifter be willingly affected by the spell True Polymorph? I know that it can be affected by regular Polymorph, but the text for the enhanced version seems to differ.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

No, a Shapchanger such as a Lycanthrope can not be affected by True Polymorph; regardless of it being a willing target or not.

The text of Polymorph says an unwilling creature must make a saving throw against the spell. Shapechangers automatically succeed on the save.

This could be taken to mean that if the Shapechanger is willing, there is no save for it to automatically succeed against and it is thus affected. The text of True Polymorph differs in stating quite directly that Shapechangers are flat out unaffected by this spell, instead of automatically succeeding on the saving throw. A creature that is unaffected by a spell, willing or otherwise, is immune to its effects.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi Airatome, I revised this answer slightly to push something into the second paragraph I believe you were trying to highlight, where a particular theoretical possibility is closed off by the True Polymorph Rules. Could you check if that still reflects what you want this answer to say, and revise further or roll back as appropriate? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 11 '17 at 15:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Reads perfectly to me :) \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Dec 11 '17 at 15:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.