So a druid is in Wild Shape and takes damage over the threshold by a gnoll. So she turns back into her real form and takes the remaining damage in real form. The gnoll has a trait called Rampage, meaning when it reduces a creature to 0 HP, it gets another attack.

Would taking a wild-shaped druid down count as taking a creature down to 0 HP?

  • \$\begingroup\$ OK, I've cleaned things up for you a bit now that we have enough information. But for future reference, I suggest you take a look at the Tour; we do things a little differently here. For one thing, we like question titles that indicate what the question is (not just what it's about), and the best place for systems and/or editions is in the tags, not the title. Otherwise, good question, and I hope you like it here. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Apr 1, 2016 at 17:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan Looks like it's 5e based on the gnoll rampage ability. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 1, 2016 at 17:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for the edit, I'll make sure to be more specific next time @KRyan \$\endgroup\$
    – Damnedmind
    Commented Apr 1, 2016 at 17:23

1 Answer 1


Here's the text of the Gnoll's ability (as found on page 317 of the pdf SRD):

Rampage. When the gnoll reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack on its turn, the gnoll can take a bonus action to move up to half its speed and make a bite attack.

And Wild Shape says:

You automatically revert if you fall unconscious, drop to 0 hit points, or die.

In order for the druid to revert out of wild shape, they have to drop to 0 hit points. If they do so as a result of the gnoll's attack, it clearly did drop a creature to 0 hit points, and should be able to use Rampage. The fact that the creature suddenly turns into a different one that has more than 0 hit points doesn't matter.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The question has been updated with the system, so you no longer need to operate on any assumption. In general, though, please do not answer unclear questions. If you are absolutely certain you can try to clarify a question yourself, but unclear questions should not get answers until they are clarified, because if you assume wrong, you are only introducing clutter and confusion. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Apr 1, 2016 at 17:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .