7
\$\begingroup\$

On p. 136 of the Monsters Manual, Evil Eye is an Action that applies damage (or half on a failed Charisma save). The next entry in Actions is the Curse of the Evil Eye, which says:

With a stare, the fomorian uses Evil Eye, but on a failed save, the creature is also cursed with magical deformities. While deformed, the creature has its speed halved and has disadvantage on ability checks, saving throws, and attacks based on Strength or Dexterity.

Does the Curse of the Evil Eye apply when the Evil Eye saving throw is failed, or does it require a seperate Action to apply?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Curse of the Evil Eye is a separate Action and must be used on its own. It does not happen when only Evil Eye is used.

What Curse of the Evil Eye does is the effect of Evil Eye, plus extra effects on a failed save.

Isn't that strictly better than just using Evil Eye then, though? Yes, but it's a recharge power that can only be used once in a fight, so that's not odd.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.