14
\$\begingroup\$

Can movement be split up more than once, with different attacks and other actions in between?

Background

I've have a 12th-level Half-Orc Monk character with the Mobile feat, resulting in a movement speed of 60 (base speed of 30, +20 from Unarmored Movement, and +10 from Mobile). At this level the character has the Extra Attack ability, and (due to being at least level 6 in Way of Shadow) has the Shadow Step ability.

Here's where my question about the movement rules comes in.

In a room of multiple opponents, that is mostly lit but with sections of dim light that are just big enough for my character to use the Shadow Step ability, I want to be able to attack one target close to me, attack one target farther away, and then move back to safety. Since my character has low hp (due to a low Con score), quickly popping here and there to poke enemies with his spear and then moving to general safety would be nice.

I figure I could accomplish it like this, but it depends on whether I can split movement multiple times:

  1. Start my turn by moving 10 feet to my first target, whom I attack
  2. Move 5 feet to the nearest source of dim lighting (the creature wouldn't get an opportunity attack because of the Mobile feat, even if I didn't hit)
  3. Use Shadow Step as my bonus action to teleport to a spot of dim lighting across the room (within 60 feet of course)
  4. Move another 15 feet to attack my second target
  5. Move with my remaining 30 feet of movement to a generally safe position.

Is the aforementioned scenario possible since I stayed within the limits of 60 feet for my character, or would I only be able to split my movement into two different movements?

It would be cool if I could split my turn into 4 movements, 2 attacks, and a teleport, but I feel like I'd only be able to do 2 movements, 2 attacks, and a teleport during my turn.

\$\endgroup\$
25
\$\begingroup\$

While the rules don't specifically state that you can break up your movement an unlimited number of times, that certainly seems to be the case.

You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet.

If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.

Since high-level fighters have up to 4 attacks with Extra Attack, this means that you can at least break up your movement into 5 sections. There's no reason why this would be a limit, however - it seems safe to assume that you can break up your movement as much as you please.

In any case, the only thing that it isn't specifically stated that you can break up your movement with is your bonus action. If your DM is an absolute stickler for "it doesn't say you can", then this is the point that you might not be able to win.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clarifying that unlimited movements between actions is possible. The earliest I can Shadow Step is level 6, so I'm sure by then I'd have a pretty good feel of what my DM would allow and not allow during combat. \$\endgroup\$ – NaxTheRaven Apr 10 '16 at 13:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ Don't have the book to hand yet but I jsut read some days ago the rulebook of the starter set which explicitly was stating "[...] as many times you want [...]" So it actually IS specifically stated. \$\endgroup\$ – Zaibis Apr 11 '16 at 8:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zaibis I do have the starter set rulebook to hand, and I can't find any such statement - I'd be very interested if you could provide specifics. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Apr 11 '16 at 8:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hm, maybe I missread. I'll reread it asap, and let you know in case I didn't misread. \$\endgroup\$ – Zaibis Apr 11 '16 at 8:41
6
\$\begingroup\$

Maybe

The PHB reads:

You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action.

(Page 190)

It also reads:

If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks.

(Page 190)

In the scenario you mentioned:

  1. Move 10 feet before action
  2. Attack (part of action)
  3. Move 5 feet between attacks
  4. You then make your bonus action.

There is the problem. Your DM will most likely not allow you to take your bonus action until you have completed your action. You could however do this:

  1. Move before action
  2. Attack (part of action)
  3. Move between attacks
  4. Attack again (part of same action)
  5. Make bonus action
  6. Move after action

That said, I am not aware of any explicit rule stating that the bonus action cannot be taken during another action. If such a rule exists, I would be grateful if someone could point it out to me.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I appreciate the feedback. Just as I said in my response to Miniman's answer, I think by level 6, when I would gain the use of Shadow Step, I'd know my DM well enough to know if he/she would allow bonus actions to split up an action. The optional scenario you provided would, however, be a bit more efficient since I'd probably be able to use quite a bit of movement to get to the next target, then either use Shadow Step, or move to where I could use Shadow Step to get even further away than I could in the scenario that I described. \$\endgroup\$ – NaxTheRaven Apr 10 '16 at 13:08
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ "You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action." - so you can take a bonus action before a standard action \$\endgroup\$ – Adeptus Apr 11 '16 at 0:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus yes, but the question here is taking a bonus action during a standard action (between two attacks coming from the same standard action). \$\endgroup\$ – Michał Politowski Apr 11 '16 at 10:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ True. But still, it says "you choose when". Actually, could you break up your multiple attacks with a Dash bonus action? \$\endgroup\$ – Adeptus Apr 11 '16 at 10:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus There's no reason to do that, because Dash is not movement, it changes your movement speed. The movement itself is all part of the same non-action, Dash just gives you more distance to play with during that non-action. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Apr 7 '17 at 15:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.