3
\$\begingroup\$

I would assume that they are thrown weapons, but it does not appear that they are part of the thrown group. So does that mean that you cannot be weapon trained with splash weapons?

I am specifically thinking for a multi-class fighter / alchemist.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Correct; the fighter, as written, has no ability to train with splash weapons.

However, while Paizo has made an attempt to be comprehensive with their weapon training lists, there is this caveat:

GMs may add other weapons to these groups, or add entirely new groups

So talk to your GM about either adding splash weapons to the thrown group or adding a splash weapon group. The biggest question I would have is whether the damage bonuses apply to the splash damage or only to the primary hit, but that’s the only reason to even think twice about allowing it, in my mind. (And personally, I probably would allow it to apply to the splash too.)

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Splash weapons aren't a proficiency

Throw Splash Weapon says

Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty.

Splash weapons are outside the normal weapon list and follow their own rules.

I am almost certain, however, that a GM could implement a house rule to add them to the fighter's weapon training (either as their own entry or to thrown weapons) without unbalancing the game and turning the fighter into a powerhouse that overshadows all other PCs.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.