6
\$\begingroup\$

Looking at the ability score table I can go down to 7 and get 4 points into my pool, so let us say I have 15 points to spend and dropping strength to 7 I have 19 points according to my understanding. But let us say I choose human and put my 2 ability points (after the point buying into strength and the minimum ability score set by the DM would be 7) I could go down to 5 at the beginning. Looking at the sequence 10:0; 9:-1; 8:-2; 7:-4; 6:-6; 5:-8 I would get 8 points into my pool. Is that possible? Do exit any rules for that since I have not found or overlooked it?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

It is not allowed by the rules.

Your DM could allow it, of course, but that's a separate matter.

You can't buy an ability score lower than 7 for the same reason you can't buy an ability score higher than 18: it's not an option. The table only has costs for values from 7 to 18. We can't even know for certain what ability scores outside that range would cost, since the changes in cost don't follow an easy-to-derive pattern.

Furthermore, it's something that shouldn't be allowed. It encourages players to over-optimize their characters, making too-dumb-to-breathe musclebound brutes and too-ugly-to-look-at spellcasting geniuses. You end up with characters that are stronger than the game is balanced for in a few areas and utterly useless in others. Any DM who allows characters to purchase scores outside the 7-18 range deserves the dysfunctional party they'll end up with.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ "Any DM who allows characters to purchase scores outside the 7-18 range deserves the dysfunctional party they'll end up with" is the kind of straight talk that needs to be heard/seen more often. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Apr 12 '16 at 3:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.