12
\$\begingroup\$

The alternate racial trait Skilled removes my dark vision as a half-orc, but my bloodline arcana gives me darkvision.

If I replaced my half-orc darvision with "Skilled", but also am an orc bloodline sorcerer, do I still get darkvision?

I feel because the bloodline arcana specifically states if I already have darkvision then it increases to 90 feet, that I do indeed keep a normal 60 ft version of dark vision with this setup.

Thoughts?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ My reading is that "Skilled" replaces the way you would gain an ability, rather than remove it. Because of that, you're not prevented from gaining it another way. \$\endgroup\$ – Samthere Apr 12 '16 at 9:33
18
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you'll get darkvision out to 60 feet.

It's not exactly simultaneous, because the character creation process puts race before class.
(Which makes logical sense - you're born before you choose your profession.)

As part of choosing your race: Skilled racial trait replaces your usual racial Darkvision.

As part of choosing your class: Orc bloodline arcana, if you don't have Darkvision (which you now don't), gives you the standard 60' Darkvision.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ I was struggling with this and was about to reach the same conclusion, but then... the darkvision is gained as a result of gaining the orc subtype, which the character already has. Is there precedent for a type replacing a type that you already had? Can you become what you already are? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 12 '16 at 5:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ However, the orc subtype isn't a dial but a switch. (And the orc subtype says specifically half-orcs don't gain light sensitivity.) A half-orc that gains the orc subtype already has the orc subtype. He can't be any more orcish than he already is. I mean, I'm okay with the answer, and I agree the half-orc with the orc bloodline should get darkvision 60 ft., but I don't know where the rules say that, and I always struggle with cases where the game says to gain something already possessed. Where else does this situation arise where the solution is clear? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 12 '16 at 5:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I have nothing to add except I feel the same and wish this game had rules as tight as magic the gathering \$\endgroup\$ – Thisisstackoverflow Apr 12 '16 at 5:31
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @Thisisstackoverflow You might want to try Fourth Edition, then; It has the kind of highly codified rules you describe. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Apr 12 '16 at 7:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus Similarly, the situation presented in this question doesn't prevent you from taking the bloodline. However, if the darkvision trait comes from the bloodline because the bloodline gives you the [orc] subtype, and you are already the [orc] subtype because of your race and you've traded away your racially-granted darkvision trait for something else, it's not nearly as unambiguous as you're making it out to be. I think that's what Hey I Can Chan is trying to say. \$\endgroup\$ – LegendaryDude Apr 12 '16 at 12:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.