7
\$\begingroup\$

Multiclass Mastery
Prerequisites: 21st level, Bard
Benefit: Gain two multiclass feats for which you meet the prerequisites.

If a character (a wizard, for instance) multiclasses as a bard with Bardic Ritualist (for example), and later takes the above feat at level 21 or above, which multiclass feats is the character able to choose from?

Can this character pick Initiate of the Old Faith (multiclass into Druid) and Acolyte of Divine Secrets (multiclass into Invoker)?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't gain additional classes.

While you can take the feat Multiclass Mastery, it doesn't give you the ability to multiclass into more than one class if you don't already have that ability (for example, from being a Bard as your main class and thus having Multiclass Versatility). Multiclass Mastery does not say it allows you to ignore the prerequisites for the feats you take, which includes not having a class-specific multiclass feat for a different class, so you don't qualify for any that aren't for the Bard class.

However, you can take the feat and get some benefit from it.

Although you can't gain additional classes, there are still a few options left to you. After you've taken a class-specific multiclass feat, you no longer qualify for most multiclass feats, but you can still take other Bard multiclass feats. So whichever feats of Bardic Ritualist, Bardic Dilettante, and Master of Stories that you haven't already taken are options, as long as you meet their prerequisites.

Further, the power-swap feats Acolyte Power, Adept Power, and Novice Power count as multiclass feats (and are obviously available when you have a class-specific multiclass feat), so they are also options.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ But the wording of the feat [MM] does seem quite clear. Acolyte of Divine Secrets is a multiclass feat (MC into Invoker), and the listed prerequisite is Wis 13, so MM should allow me to take it. The usual restriction (which Multiclass Versatility [MV] normally bypasses) is "once you take a multiclass feat, you can’t take a class-specific feat for a different class", but does this still restrict what MM allows me to choose? \$\endgroup\$ – Zso Apr 14 '16 at 1:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Zso As stated, Multiclass Mastery does not change the normal restrictions on taking multiclass feats. It's a "two for the price of one" feat, that's the only effect it has. The only reason Bards can take multiclass feats from more than one class is because of their Multiclass Versatility class feature, which no feat grants. \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Apr 14 '16 at 1:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zso You can also see it in action if you try it in the character builder, as shown here: imgur.com/49LIb3L \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Apr 14 '16 at 1:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Okay, I'll accept the character builder's rules as conclusive, but from the wording of the feat, I'm still not seeing the order in which rules come into effect to make this not an option. How is this not a case of 'specific beats general'? The feat comes into effect after the general rule of 'one class-specific MC feat only', and the wording of the feat only lists the prerequisite of the class-specific MC feat as being relevant to whether you can take it. "You can take a MC feat if you meet the listed prerequisite" is essentially how it's written (ignoring the second feat also granted for now) \$\endgroup\$ – Zso Apr 14 '16 at 1:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Zso D&D 4e is a game of exceptions. If something doesn't say it changes a rule, it doesn't change a rule. Not repeating the general rule is not the same as being a contradictory specific rule. Multiclass Mastery does not explicitly say that you can take the multiclass feat from any class, therefore, you can't. \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Apr 14 '16 at 2:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for?Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.