8
\$\begingroup\$

Old dragons can frighten you:

Frightful Presence. Each creature of the dragon's choice that is within 120 feet of the dragon and aware of it must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or become frightened for 1 minute. A creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itselfon a success.

Calm Emotion can suppress this:

You can suppress any effect causing a target to be charmed or frightened. When this spell ends, any suppressed effeet resumes, provided that its duration has not expired in the meantime.

Do you keep repeating the saving throw while the frightened condition is suppressed?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The effect is suppressed, but it is not ended. Frightful Presence specifically says that you can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of your turns. Nothing in Calm Emotions changes that. If the spell had another part, you wouldn't say that you don't get the saving throw. I don't think it makes any sense to say that you don't get the saving throw since the only effect is suppressed.

=============

Let's change the wording slightly

Cold: Each creature of the plaguebearer's choice that is within 120 feet of the plaguebearer must succeed on a DC 16 Constitution saving throw or become sickened for 1 minute. A creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.

Cold Medicine: You can suppress any effect causing a target to be sickened. When this spell ends, any suppressed effect resumes, provided that its duration has not expired in the meantime.

Point being that your body is still working to fight off the infection, even if you don't see the symptom.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm torn between Dale M's interpretation and yours. The only thing that makes me (slightly) prefer his is that part of the spell's description : "provided that its duration has not expired in the meantime". If the wording had been "provided the effect has not ended", I'd have chosen your answer hands down. Still have to think this over. \$\endgroup\$ – Meta4ic Apr 15 '16 at 17:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Meta4ic See my addendum. \$\endgroup\$ – Kyle W Apr 15 '16 at 20:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ I had this very example in mind when I wrote my comment (in fact, I was about to make a comment about causes and symptoms under Dale's answer), but then I thought about how, RAW, D&D isn't always about logic. As a DM, though, I would definitely allow that save, as it seems the most logical thing to do. But is it RAW? Anyway, you get my vote. \$\endgroup\$ – Meta4ic Apr 15 '16 at 22:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Meta4ic I think given the ambiguities in the rulebook, both answers can be seen as possible interpretations of RAW. I think mine is more RAW and correct, though. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Kyle W Apr 18 '16 at 15:57
6
\$\begingroup\$

No, the key here is "suppress any effect"; while subject to the calm emotions you are not under the effect of the dragon's frightful presence. How can you save against something that is not affecting you?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ How cold you suppress something that is not affecting you? "Suppress" sounds like treating the symptoms, not the underlying condition. \$\endgroup\$ – András Apr 14 '16 at 20:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @András you have the cart before the horse - it is not affecting you because it is suppressed, not the other way around. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Apr 14 '16 at 21:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ Contrast: rpg.stackexchange.com/a/117086/9552 \$\endgroup\$ – András Mar 10 '18 at 10:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.