13
\$\begingroup\$

Haste states

When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

However, let's say Character A cast Haste on Character B. In the 10th round (final round of haste if concentration not broken), Character B casts Haste on himself.

What happens during the next round?

  1. Do they lose a round of the "new" haste while they are lethargic and lose movement and actions?
  2. Does the new haste override the lethargy until it ends?
  3. Is it some combination? Retain AC/Dex modifications but lose actions/movement?
  4. None of the above?
\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

Your option 3 is correct.

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

Not "when the target is no longer under this effect" or "when the target no longer has Haste"; the condition for losing a turn is when the spell ends. So it doesn't matter that there are 2 spells affecting them simultaneously - if a Haste spell ends, you lose a turn.

However, they are still under the effects of a Haste spell.

Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns.

Their speed is still doubled, they still have +2 AC, they still have advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and they still gain an additional action. They can't move, and they can't take actions, but this doesn't prevent them from getting any of those benefits. It just prevents them from using some of them.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.