5
\$\begingroup\$

Is there an official ruling or rule that determines whether the spell creation can be used to create a magic item?

I'd like to know if any of the developers have posted a ruling about this, or whether there are other rules somewhere in the game that explicitly specify whether it's possible.

\$\endgroup\$

This question has an open bounty worth +500 reputation from Purple Monkey ending in 2 days.

The current answer(s) are out-of-date and require revision given recent changes.

Since Jeremy Crawford's tweets are no longer "official" this question needs an updated answer.

14
\$\begingroup\$

On April 18, 2016 Jeremy Crawford tweeted:

The creation spell is not intended to create magic items. #DnD

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

The spell has no explicit restriction on creating magic items

The only thing creation specifies is that the object must be a "nonliving object of vegetable matter" or "mineral objects". The only examples given in the spell are generic item categories ("soft goods, rope, wood, or something similar") and not anything that would limit things to mundane items explicitly either. So, technically, if you wanted to make a Rope of Mending, you could, since it is an item object made out of hemp (assuming you have seen it before).

An argument could be made that magic items are more than just their materials:

Creating a magic item requires more than just time, effort, and materials. It is a long-term process that involves one or more adventures to track down rare materials and the lore needed to create the item. (XGE)1

However, that could easily be explained away by the fact that this is a spell that creates objects (temporarily) and being magic could easily be seen to bypass the "normal" requirements for the creation of magic items (just as the spell already bypasses the normal crafting rules when it creates mundane objects).

It isn't intended to work that way

Jeremy Crawford has said in a now-unofficial Tweet that:

The creation spell is not intended to create magic items.

Which is pretty clear. It is possible they simply meant to have the word "nonmagical" in there as it is in spells like true polymorph:

You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into a nonmagical object [...]

Though it is notable that this wording was only added to true polymorph after release with errata, so it seems that this oversight was made on multiple spells.2

While not exactly analogous (because true polymorph can create permanent objects and doesn't have material restrictions which itself is a huge step up in power), the fact that the 9th level true polymorph cannot create magic items is more indirect support for the fact that creation, a 5th level spell, should not be able to either.3


1 - Note that this is from the optional rules in Xanathar's Guide to Everything.

2 - Thanks @Medix2

3 - Thanks @KorvinStarmast

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Should I leave up my answer which effectively says the exact same things? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Aug 14 at 13:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good point! I'll add a note there to that. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Aug 14 at 13:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Yeah absolutely! Unless you really don't want to, it often helps to have answers that say the same thing in different ways. And mine came in after yours so I wouldn't want you to remove it on that account. And who knows, as time progresses we may think of different things that cause our answers to diverge. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Aug 14 at 13:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ The However this could easily be explained away... paragraph confuses me slightly; are you saying that the use of "Creation" in this manner is plausable? The way the question is worded seems - to me - to make this paragraph say two different things at once. \$\endgroup\$ – Tyler Gubala Aug 14 at 14:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ You could potentially argue that the "rare materials" needed to create a magic item are not included on the list of materials and, on that basis, exclude magic items from the spell. (Assuming you're playing with XGtE rules.) \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan Thompson Aug 14 at 14:51
8
\$\begingroup\$

It is not intended, but RAW creation can make magical items

As DerekStucki's answer shows, Jeremy Crawford's now unofficial ruling here states:

The creation spell is not intended to create magic items.


Using RAW, we do know that spells do what they say and that creation creates a "nonliving object" or "mineral object". It does not specify that they need to be a nonmagical and without that clause nothing prevents you from creating magic items.

A spell which does explicitly forbid magic items is true polymorph; as this Q/A explains there was an errata made to the spell so it now reads:

You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into a nonmagical object, or the object into a creature

What we know about other methods of crafting magic items is found in the Dungeon Master's Guide which states:

The creation of a magic item is a lengthy, expensive task...

And in the "Crafting Magic Items" section in Xanathar's Guide to Everything which states:

Creating a magic item requires more than just time, effort, and materials. It is a long-term process that involves one or more adventures to track down rare materials and the lore needed to create the item.

Note that these rules are for crafting as a downtime activity. Spells like creation, fabricate, and true polymorph, already bypass/ignore these rules when crafting mundane items (as there is not time requirement like in the dowtime activity rules).
This supports the idea that the creation spell bypasses/ignores these rules even when crafting magic items.


Note that allowing creation to create magical items would be rather out-of-line. This would be allowing a 5th level spell to do something a 9th level spell (true polymorph) cannot even do.
Even the incredibly powerful wish spell has one of the possible uses listed as:

You create one object of up to 25,000 gp in value that isn't a magic item...

As @Rubiksmoose pointed out, magic items created by the creation spell are not permanent and so the comparison to true polymorph and wish is not a complete one. However, I still believe a 5th level spell creating temporary magic items would give the spell an incredible additional amount of utility and still result in an imbalance.

Strictly RAW, because the creation spell does not explicitly forbid the creation of magic items, you can create magic items, but this is not intended and I believe makes the spell overpowered.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast I have spelled it out more in my answer, hopefully \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Aug 14 at 13:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast I agree, but the question explicitly wanted official rules and I have explained that this is not intended, I can add that it is also a bad idea to have as it is imbalancing \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Aug 14 at 13:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast One point that makes the comparison not so apt is that TP can create permanent object whereas creation creates objects only temporarily. It doesn't make your point a bad one, but it does make the comparison a bit more difficult. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Aug 14 at 13:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose Yeah, if the item is a temporary magical effect, like the magic of Spiritual weapon, that does make it a bit squisiher as a concept. The think is, if it is simply "magical" for the purposes of magical attacks versus immunities, that surely fits within the power of a 5th level spell, while if it "creates luck blade" that would seem to be out of balance. +1 for the added analysis and insights. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Aug 14 at 14:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.