Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the interest of balance. That is not part of my question.)

Elf. Multiclass: Sorcerer 2+ / Warlock 1+ / Bard 1

  • Never takes a long rest. Ever. See question, Must 5e elves take a long rest? Specifically, whether adventuring or not, she makes sure that every 8 hour block includes more than 2 hours of combat or strenuous activity, to ensure that no interpretation of long rest rules would allow a long rest to be automatically triggered.
  • Converts warlock spell slots into sorcery points. See @JeremyECrawford's tweet.
  • Converts sorcery points into sorcery spell slots (or into spellcasting spell slots, once also multiclassing Bard) via Flexible Casting
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points disappear upon long rest, as per Flexible Casting and a tweet from @JeremyECrawford; therefore these created spell slots will not disappear until used, e.g. for a character taking no long rests
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points are in addition to, and not restoration of the sorcerer's spell slots which refresh on a long rest. This is not 100% clear from RAW or clarifications. But:
    (a) Flexible Casting uses the phrase, "additional Spell Slots";
    (b) the rule stating that created spell slots disappear on long rests is superfluous if created spell slots can only replace expended spell slots -- to have meaning it must be possible to create spell slots which are not replacements;
    (c) flexible casting does not use the word "recover", which is the word used for wizards' Arcane Recovery
  • Restores warlock spell slots on a short rest, and repeats the cycle above, converting warlock spell slots to sorcery points to sorcerer (or spellcasting) spell slots
  • During periods of downtime, takes as many short rests per day as permissible, to build up a stockpile of created sorcerer spell slots
  • Stockpiling requires using bonus actions out of combat, discussed elsewhere
  • Stockpiling requires having short rests on downtime days, discussed in a comment below
  • While adventuring, during combat, uses created spell slots to cast spells, and/or uses flexible casting to convert those spell slots back into sorcery points
  • While adventuring, after combat, will use created spell slots with Bard spells to restore hits points, since restoring hit points via long rest is unavailable, and via hit dice is mostly unavailable

I'm pretty sure this is not RAI, but does it violate RAW in some way?

  • 15
    \$\begingroup\$ Won't you have to worry about exhaustion levels? \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob Rose
    Commented Jun 18, 2017 at 22:58
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that per the latest errata, a character must actually sleep for 6 hours in order for a long rest to occur. Whether elves' trance also satisfies this updated requirement, I do not know. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 19, 2017 at 17:17
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @DanHenderson it does. 4h of elf trance is the equivalent of 8 hours of sleep. And a long rest. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 24, 2017 at 17:09
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Similar to @DanHenderson's point, Xanathar's Guide to Everything has new guidelines on what happens if you do not get a long rest that may make many answers here outdated (though that, as well as all other DM tools in that book, is optional). \$\endgroup\$
    – CTWind
    Commented Nov 14, 2017 at 21:41
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Part of our fine cheese collection. \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Commented May 15, 2018 at 18:29

6 Answers 6


The big issue with this seems to rely on being able to stockpile spell slots through short rests during downtime. Unfortunately, in the Resting rules (page 67 of the basic rules), it states:

Adventurers can take short rests in the midst of an adventuring day and a long rest to end the day.

This leads me to believe that RAW, characters cannot take short rests during Downtime days and so the theoretical character has no chance to stockpile spell slots.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$
    – mxyzplk
    Commented Apr 20, 2016 at 2:32

This no longer works under RAW, due to wording changes in later printings. Once your elf uses the Trance feature for four hours, they satisfy the conditions for a long rest, and thus take a long rest.

The recent errata change, due to updated wording in the PHB, clarifies how long rests now work:

Long Rest (p. 186). The first sentence of the rule now reads, “A long rest is a period of extended downtime, at least 8 hours long, during which a character sleeps for at least 6 hours and performs no more than 2 hours of light activity, such as reading, talking, eating, or standing watch.”

In addition, you regain at least one Hit Die when you finish a long rest.

The Sage Advice Compendium clarifies how this interacts with an elf's Trance trait:

Does the Trance trait allow an elf to finish a long rest in 4 hours? If an elf meditates during a long rest (as described in the Trance trait), the elf finishes the rest after only 4 hours. A meditating elf otherwise follows all the rules for a long rest; only the duration is changed. [This answer has been altered as a result of a tweak to the rules for a long rest, which appears in newer printings of the Player’s Handbook.]

  • \$\begingroup\$ Notably, non-elves can sleep for 6 hours (which is not explicitly enough to avoid exhaustion, but I would argue is implicitly), and then make sure they do non-light activity for enough time surrounding sleeping - so playing a non-elf solves this problem. \$\endgroup\$
    – Vigil
    Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 19:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Vigil exhaustion occurs as a result of not taking a long rest, which means a non-elf wouldn't be able to carry off this coffeelock build. It explicitly relied on the elf's trance feature. \$\endgroup\$
    – illustro
    Commented Feb 13, 2021 at 13:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The question doesn't say anything about meditating. It actually looks like they never trance at all. This answer seems unrelated to the problem. \$\endgroup\$
    – DCShannon
    Commented Apr 29, 2022 at 10:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DCShannon actually it does by linking to the "Must 5e elves take a long rest?" Question which is inherently about the Trance feature. The elf's Trance feature was inherent to making the coffeelock work (due to getting the benefits of sleeping but not long resting and thus avoiding exhaustion but not losing the sorcery points) \$\endgroup\$
    – illustro
    Commented Apr 29, 2022 at 10:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @illustro There are pages of related information there, but it's not clear which, if any, interpretation the question is interested in. Anyway, it doesn't matter. All it says is that they don't rest. Ever. So this whole answer is invalid if they don't trance for four hours, which they won't, because that would be resting. \$\endgroup\$
    – DCShannon
    Commented Apr 29, 2022 at 11:17

Not necessarily a violation, but a concern, which I noticed thanks to Weaveworker89’s comment, that may affect this character’s ability to maintain this approach:

Adventurers can take [...] a long rest to end the day.

Long rests are what end an adventuring day. Without them, an adventuring day never ends, and thus a new day (including, e.g., a downtime day) doesn’t begin.

This means that the character, should he wish to maintain and/or grow his stockpile of spells, must remain constantly in “adventure mode.” He cannot take advantage of any downtime-only activities.

This does address the problem raised by Weaveworker89’s answer: since the character is eternally “in the midst of an [endless] adventuring day,” he can always take short rests, even if we stipulate that short rests cannot happen on a downtime day.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It says "Adventurers can take..." It doesn't necessarily mean they must. \$\endgroup\$
    – Adeptus
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 6:29
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus Except that nothing else in the rules indicates any other way to end the day, which means yes, they must, because it’s the only available way. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 11:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I disagree with your reading of this. They can take a long rest to end the adventuring day, not they must take a long rest to end the adventuring day. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 10, 2020 at 19:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RevenantBacon Sure, they are not required to. But if they don’t, the adventuring day doesn’t end—because nothing else says it can end the adventuring day. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Aug 10, 2020 at 19:10
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan Sure there is. They just ... stop adventuring. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 10, 2020 at 19:15

New (optional) RAW Makes It Possible, But Expensive

As CTWind mentions in a comment on the original question, since this question was originally asked Xanathar's Guide to Everything set out new optional rules for going without a long rest.


Whenever you end a 24-hour period without finishing a long rest, you must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or suffer one level of exhaustion.

It becomes harder to fight off exhaustion if you stay awake for multiple days. After the first 24 hours, the DC increases by 5 for each consecutive 24-hour period without a long rest. The DC resets to 10 when you finish a long rest. (XGtE: p.78)

If your DM decides to follow this rule, that means that within a short time (a week for most possible characters), you will begin to gain a level of exhaustion every day that you do not take a long rest, regardless of how well you roll on a Constitution Saving Throw. And if six levels of exhaustion are accrued, your character will die (PHB, p. 291).

Note that at sufficiently high levels your strategy can still be a net-gain, with some modifications. This rule can only produce one level of exhaustion each day. And 7 Sorcery Points can create a 5th level spell slot. And if you were a Divine Soul sorcerer (XGtE, p. 50) you can learn the 5th level spell Greater Restoration at 9th level, which removes a level of exhaustion. If you were a Divine Soul Sorcerer 9+/Warlock 3+ you could produce 4 Sorcery Points per short rest, and thus could generate enough Sorcery Points in a day to cast Greater Restoration once each day, and still have enough sorcery points left over to generate other useful spell slots.

Unfortunately, this strategy will require at least 100 gold pieces worth of diamond dust every day, which can quickly deplete an adventurer's supply if used during downtime. But it is still a possible option within the rules.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What about Aspect of the Moon? The one that gives you "you don't need to sleep". \$\endgroup\$
    – Stackstuck
    Commented Apr 21, 2019 at 19:55
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Stackstuck The lack of a need for sleep does not negate the need for a "long rest" (the rules on Aspect of the Moon dictate how you can take a long rest without sleeping). And that is precisely what the rule cited above deals with. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 21, 2019 at 20:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Gandalfmeansme: The introduction to the XGtE rule you cite says "A long rest is never mandatory, but going without sleep does have its consequences. If you want to account for the effects of sleep deprivation on characters and creatures, use these rules." For creatures that don't need sleep, arguably the rest of the rules given there do not apply. The question is whether the racial alternative rest cycles are physiologically necessary like sleep is (and thus skipping them is punished), or just necessary to gain the benefits of a long rest. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 23 at 15:28

This does not technically violate RAW, but if you never rest, you get tired.

So, first, the combo as described works, technically. The problem is that it works by never ending the adventuring day, and Long Rest resets more than just your hit dice and spell slots.

In particular, the overland travel rules are per day. More specifically, the Forced March rules make clear that Overland Travel is assuming 8 hours of movement per day and that if you go beyond that, you start developing levels of Exhaustion. You can fend off that exhaustion with Con saves, but the DC on those saves go up with every hour past the 8 that you march. Exhaustion, in turn, rapidly becomes debilitating, and the only ways to heal it are a 5th level spell with a 100gp material component, a rare potion, and long rests.

This is in addition to the optional rule that @Gandalfmeansme pointed out that just straight-up hits you with a level of exhaustion every day.

One addendum on the bright side for the build: While this is a pretty hard limit on going forever, the warlock/sorceror also has a decently efficient technique for turning sorcery points into damage. Eldritch Blast's nature as a cantrip that is augmented by class features means that it's an especially good use for Quickened Spell (2 sorcery points), and Warlocks don't have many ways by default to use those bonus actions. So you do have to sleep sometimes, but if your constitution save is good enough (and it's worth investing in, given the requirement of concentration) you can still do pretty respectably for yourself even with the only modestly egregious number of temp slots you can assemble.

  • \$\begingroup\$ You cannot twin eldritch blast. Twinned Spell requires that the spell is "incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level". \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 18:52
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov Technically, you can twin eldritch blast up until you hit 5th level, because before that point the spell only targets one creature. A sorcerer 3/warlock 1 would have access to Twinned Spell and eldritch blast prior to 5th level. But that is a very slender reed, and does little to get at the heart of the question. \$\endgroup\$
    – screamline
    Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 21:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ @screamline I know, in an earlier comment to Ben on a now deleted answer, I wrote, "You cannot twin eldritch blast once it gets a second beam." \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 21:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov Figures. I'm late to the party again! \$\endgroup\$
    – screamline
    Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 21:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @screamline It all went down very quickly, the answer wasn't actually an answer and was deleted swiftly. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 11, 2021 at 21:15

This does not violate the RAW.

Explicitly, you can CREATE (not refresh) slots with Flexible Casting. As you pointed out, the JC tweets support that RAI.

The Sage Advice tweet still leaves open whether the slots created are "Pact Magic Slots" or "Spellcasting Slots". The exact language is:

Multiclassing: Spell slots from Spellcasting and Pact Magic are interchangeable (PH, 164). Flexible Casting cares about slot level.

That is a non-answer. It goes on to say:

Multiclassing/Flexible Casting/Pact Magic: Sorcery points can create a slot that's used with Pact Magic. It's not a "warlock slot."

So, I read that as "you can make Pact Magic short refresh slots" using those sorcery points.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .