The rules say that a creature with the grappled or restrained condition has a speed of 0. Player argues that a creature can't move on the same turn that it frees itself from either condition, because it started its turn with a speed of 0. Player citing pg. 181 of Players Handbook as reference:
SPEED: Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round.
The claim is that, according to this statement, a creature that starts its turn grappled or restrained has a speed of 0 this round, therefore can't move until the next round after freeing itself from the condition.
My claim is that the creature gains its speed back IMMEDIATELY upon losing the condition, even on its turn, citing pg. 290 from the Players Handbook:
A creature either has a condition or doesn't.
So: Can a creature move on the same turn that it eliminates either of these conditions from itself, or does it have to wait until its next turn to move?