2
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

The Crossbow Expert Feat has three clauses:

Thanks to extensive practice with the crossbow, you gain the fol lowing benefits:

• You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient.

• Being withing 5 feet of a hostile creature doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged attack rolls.

• When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding.

I'm looking at the second clause in particular:

Being withing 5 feet of a hostile creature doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged attack rolls.

Note that it doesn't say "Being withing 5 feet of a hostile creature doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged attack roles that you make with a crossbow."

That being said, does this clause only apply to ranged attack roles that you make with a crossbow? I would assume so, but why doesn't it say it?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Miniman dnd-5e Apr 20 '16 at 8:01

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.