6
\$\begingroup\$

Is Dashing and Attacking in the same turn possible without using a Bonus action? Everything I'm reading indicates a dash takes an entire turn and the entirety of the move.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ When you say Bonus Actions aside, do you mean ignoring things like the rogue's ability "Cunning Action"? \$\endgroup\$ – SurrealAnalysis Apr 26 '16 at 20:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, ignoring things like Cunning Action. \$\endgroup\$ – LordAo Apr 26 '16 at 20:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can a character with a movement rate of 30 decide not to dash the full 60 and, say, dash 40 feet and then attack within the same turn? \$\endgroup\$ – LordAo Apr 26 '16 at 20:23
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Regarding your parenthetical math: beware that Dash does not multiply movement, it adds to movement. That works out the same with one Dash, but it makes a big difference with multiple Dash actions. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Apr 26 '16 at 21:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Korvin For a start I've removed the parenthetical, which was unnecessary anyway \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Apr 27 '16 at 12:25
20
\$\begingroup\$

Fighters can. Action surge means you can use one action to dash, and the other to attack. Using action surge is a feature, and does not require a bonus action.

Outside of that feature...

Bonus actions aside seems to be a weird stipulation to put on this being that that is pretty much the only way you could both dash and attack.

You move on your turn, and you are allowed to take 1 action. (PHB pg. 192). One of those actions could be Dash which gives you additional movement on your turn. Basically you are converting your action into additional movement.

However, you can break up your movement as much as you wish (PHB pg. 190), and can Action during that move (which is an attack in the case you listed). So you can definitely move AND attack, but you cannot dash and attack without using a bonus action to grant either of those things.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is what I'm looking for. I was misunderstanding the nature of the movement within a turn. \$\endgroup\$ – LordAo Apr 26 '16 at 20:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, it took my group a while to understand the nature of movement as many of them cut their teeth on 4e which has a different movement situation. \$\endgroup\$ – Guy Apr 26 '16 at 20:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ We're 2E guys. :D \$\endgroup\$ – LordAo Apr 26 '16 at 20:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ We were understanding a dash as its own move when a Dash is an action (like an attack) added to a move. \$\endgroup\$ – LordAo Apr 26 '16 at 20:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @LordAo It's a very fine distinctions people miss - a Dash doesn't actually make the character move, it just increases the total allowed movement for the turn. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Apr 13 '17 at 18:52
6
\$\begingroup\$

Leaving aside spells and class features that allow dashing as a bonus action, the Haste spell would allow a character to use the Attack action and Dash action on the same turn, and a fighter's Action Surge would allow a full Attack action and a Dash action.

A sorcerer could also quicken either Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade to make an attack as a bonus action, leaving their action open for dashing, but I'm not sure if that also violates your premise.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Full Attack Action" is a holdover term from prior editions; there's no such animal in 5E. It's just an "Attack Action". There are class features that can modify the definition of an "Attack Action," but the name does not change. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Apr 13 '17 at 18:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ "fully allow an Attack Action," or "complete Attack Action" would be equivalent meanings to what I said. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Apr 13 '17 at 18:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, they would not. Usage of "full", "fully", or "complete" implies that there is some way to get a "fractional" or "partial" Attack Action. An Attack Action is atomic, you either take one, or you don't. What a character can do during that singular Attack Action can be redefined by class feature. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Apr 13 '17 at 19:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Haste, which I use in my first example, allows for a restricted Attack action. The Attack action granted by Action Surge has no such restriction, and thus my word choice. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Apr 13 '17 at 19:06
1
\$\begingroup\$

The Charger feat allows you to dash and attack with a +5 to attack damage, or shove a creature 10 feet

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ As a bonus action. I believe the asker wants to keep his bonus action. \$\endgroup\$ – Tijnkwan Apr 13 '17 at 21:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.