14
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a 5e Wizard/ Monk build. My DM and I are questioning the viability of the cantrip Shocking Grasp. As a monk I can do another unarmed strike as a bonus action after I attack with a melee attack. Being a touch spell, can I punch (touch) with Shocking Grasp and then do my monk's bonus action?

\$\endgroup\$
31
\$\begingroup\$

No. The Monk feature says that you can use the bonus action Unarmed strike after you use the Attack action with a Monk weapon or Unarmed strike. Shocking Grasp requires the Cast a Spell action, which does not qualify.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's a separate question. \$\endgroup\$ – Christopher Apr 27 '16 at 16:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Booming Blade is still Casting A Spell instead of taking the Attack action. You still wouldn't be able to do both, for the Answerer's reason. \$\endgroup\$ – Eladri Apr 27 '16 at 20:21
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @LegendaryDude That wouldn't change anything. Using Ready, there could be a theoretical turn where the Monk uses his reaction to use the Readied Shocking Grasp (if holding Ready until your next turn doesn't cause the spell to fizzle), then Attacks, then Bonus Action attacks. However, Shocking Grasp is still not the Attack action that grants the Bonus Action. \$\endgroup\$ – Lost_in_Hyrule Apr 28 '16 at 19:54
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ See this section of the Basic Rules: "To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction before the start of your next turn. [...] When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 17 '18 at 18:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ In other words, if you ready a spell and the trigger doesn't occur before the start of your next turn, the spell slot is wasted without the spell taking effect. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 17 '18 at 18:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.