7
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

I am currently Playing a Monk 8/ Rogue 4 The Rogue is an Assassin. pg97 of the PHB says that for assassinate the move

In addition, any hit you score against a creature that is surprised is a critical hit

I attacked a surprise creature with my flurry of blows from the Monk giving me 4 hits. Since the passage on Surprise in chapter 9 doesnt specify how many attacks count for "surprised" my DM ruled that only the first hit was a critical. My argument was that Assassinate uses the word "all" for the hits.

So who is correct via RAW?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by SevenSidedDie dnd-5e Apr 28 '16 at 3:46

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Related, maybe even a duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Apr 28 '16 at 3:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ahhh yes, yes it is... thanks for the link. I didnt think to search this according to the surprise function. \$\endgroup\$ – MC_Hambone Apr 28 '16 at 3:56
3
\$\begingroup\$

Your DM is wrong (except that, as DM, they can't be).

A creature is surprised until the end of its first turn. If you beat its initiative, then every attack you successfully make is a critical hit. If you lose initiative, then it isn't surprised on your turn and you lose that benefit of surprise.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.