Is a druid in wild shape actually a beast?
e.g. would the Speak with Animals work to communicate with the druid?
You gain the ability to comprehend and verbally communicate with beasts for the duration.
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
For the purposes of creature type you are a 'Beast' (or Elemental at L10) while in Wild Shape form and no longer Humanoid. As it has been pointed out to me by a fellow exchange friend, you are still yourself. Still a druid (with your memories and personality in tact). You never stop being who you are, but your form alters in such a all encompassing way that you do, indeed, stop being a humanoid.
"...Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast, but you retain your alignment, personality, and Intelligence, W isdom , and Charisma scores. You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature..."
So this is, before anything else, saying everything you are is replaced by that of your new form; including creature type. It then gives you exceptions as to what is NOT altered and thus retained from your Druid form, an exception to the Wild Shape rule.
This does have implications such as 'Speak with Animals' making you a legal target as well as (perhaps the most interesting) anything that must target a humanoid (Such as Hold Person and Charm Person) can no longer target you. Since you are now only a Beast.