6
\$\begingroup\$

When using Summon Nature's Ally X or Summon Monster X to summon creatures of a lower level (1d3 creatures of one level lower), does Superior Summoning still provide an extra creature if you roll a 1?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

The RAW is unclear, there is no developer commentary on this subject that I can find, and the community opinion seems to be somewhat divided (though somewhat favoring “yes, it basically makes that case 1d3+1”).

Demonstration of community opinion:

There are no doubt more; these were just the first hits on Google for this subject. Basically, the feat is a mess (I also came across a great question, which also had no answer, of how it interacts with elemental swarm—clearly, that conjures multiple creatures, but it comes with a variety so which one do you get an extra of?).

Basically, Paizo dropped the ball on this feat, and you’ll have to rely on houserules to determine how it actually works. For what it’s worth, summoning isn’t so strong that this costly feat should come with the risk of it not working a third of the time when you try to use it.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ See also this thread for more summoning mathy goodness. \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage May 4 '16 at 18:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is exactly the same info I found. I was really hoping that there was some official (or dev) answer to the question and I was just failing to find it. \$\endgroup\$ – BRW May 4 '16 at 19:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.