4
\$\begingroup\$

When you lose a Conflict in Shock: your Protagonist increases hir Features number by one and you write a new Feature for zir. If you lose both Conflicts in the scene — i.e., the Antagonist wins hir Intent and you lose yours — does that mean you increase Features by two and write a new Feature reflecting each defeat?

Potentially going from 3 dice in the first scene to 5 dice in the second seems like a big deal, but it's not mentioned explicitly anywhere I can find, only by inference from the instructions for resolution, so I'm wondering if I'm missing something.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I approved an edit to this and then realised (by reading comments on the answer) that it was incorrect. Rolled it back. \$\endgroup\$ – Jason_c_o Sep 28 '18 at 8:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Now that you mention it, I wonder if the unusual number of downvotes is because of the pronouns. Maybe they don’t know these are the pronouns used by the game. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Sep 28 '18 at 14:20
4
\$\begingroup\$

The Antag winning does not mean the Protag loses.

Remember the rules of Intent (p.32): the Intents of the players may not be mutually exclusive, and for you dad-jokers in the audience, read that "may not" as "must not". It is always possible for the Protag and Antag to both win, or both lose, their Intents in a Conflict. Nothing that happens to the Antag counts for the Protag's win or loss.

However, it's possible to get up to three new Features from one failed Intent. Fail to accomplish your Intent in a Conflict. Risk a Link to redo the whole Conflict, and fail again. Risk the other Link to redo the whole Conflict again and fail again. This doesn't actually "redo" the Conflict; time still progresses to a greater or lesser degree, and the Praxis Scales can change, but you are risking more and more to accomplish your original Intent.

If your opposite *tagonist succeeds, you can still risk a Link, even if you succeeded too. But as long as you succeed in your Intent, you don't get a new Feature and you don't break a Link you risked.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.