8
\$\begingroup\$

All Apocalypse World rolls are 2d6 + "bonus", with 6 or less counting as a "miss", 7 to 9 counting as "soft hit" and 10 or above counting as "hard hit". Most rolls decide the bonus part by a stat, some use expendable resource (like Angel kit's supply or Barter).

Stats are capped off at +3. Other rolls that allow spending a resource for the bonus (like using the Angel kit's supply, or "dropping jingle to speed an item on its way to you") specify the maximum bonus at +3 too. This has made some of my players assume +3 is the maximum bonus one can get, and they ask me about it. I don't really know, myself.

With +ongoing or +forward, they could get +1 to their roll, and successful help from another character is also +1 (+2 in the previews of Second edition). This would make the total for a helped character with +3 bonus and +forward/+ongoing as high as +5 or +6. Both outcomes are pretty good; +5 would never miss, and be a hard hit 5/6 of the time. +6 never misses either and gets a hard hit 11/12 of times.

I'm not questioning the power of these modifiers; as the GM it's not my job to deny the players bonuses, and I'm pretty sure any character who's got +3 bonus, help and +ongoing has already earned that hard hit. I'm just curious - is there a rule, somewhere, that puts a limit on bonus modifiers placed on a single roll?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Nope, there are no bonus limits or rules about stacking limitations. Getting +ongoing is hard (and losing it is comparatively easy), and getting +forward is inherently temporary, so high bonuses are hard to get and harder to keep, but when circumstances and clever planning conspire to make them happen, they're legit.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.