If I have one of the Skald's at-will powers such as Bolstering Speech that triggers when I hit with a basic attack through Master of Stories and the half-elf 1/encounter at-will, can I trigger its effect off of a power that says it can be used as a basic attack?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to rpg.se! Please take a look at the tour, it's a useful introduction to the site. I'm adding some more tags so people can find this question more easily. \$\endgroup\$ – BESW May 11 '16 at 5:40

It depends on the exact writing of the power.

The Warlock's Eldritch Strike has "This power counts as a basic attack." So all things that trigger on basic attacks do so.

However, powers such as the Paladin's Ardent Strike have "This power may be used in place of a basic attack while charging" and do not count as a basic attack, because it is only "in place of".

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.