In the PHB, it mentions that upon rolling a 20 on a death saving throw, you regain 1 HP. However, are you still unconscious after receiving this 1 HP? Additionally, if magically healed (by cure wounds or whatever), do you gain consciousness immediately?


1 Answer 1


Yes, if you regain hp either by rolling a 20 on a death save or by any other method, you will gain consciousness immediately.

If damage reduces you to 0 hit points and fails to kill you, you fall unconscious (see appendix A). This unconsciousness ends if you regain any hit points.

  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ Worth noting the death save in 5E is at the start of your turn (unlike 4E where it was at end). So yes you wake up immediately and can act that turn. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 16, 2016 at 9:44
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Of course, remember that you're (most likely) still prone and so you'll probably need to use half your speed to stand up. (PHB 190-191) \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 16, 2016 at 16:28
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NeilSlater Am I wrong in thinking that the PHB says a DST is all you can do on your turn? \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 16, 2016 at 18:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NielSlater Do you have a reference for that? The way I have always seen it ran in 5e by man DMs was that it was at the end of turn so that if you saved that was all you could do \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 16, 2016 at 19:49
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ System Reference document, P98 and PHB page 197: "Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points, you must make a special saving throw" - no mention at all of it being the only thing you can do, the inability to act is covered due to being unconscious. But a character stops being unconscious when gaining hit points. There are no references I can find saying a DST is the only thing that can be done on a turn - @PremierBromanov can you find such a reference? \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 16, 2016 at 21:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .