5
\$\begingroup\$

I am playing an Inquisitor who has the "bane ability" in which I can change my bane type that I apply each round I so choose for a certain number of rounds per day. My sword already has (evil outsider) bane on it. We are playing Wrath of the Righteous, which includes lots of demons.

If I use my Inquisitor power to put "demon bane" on my sword that already has evil outsider bane, and attack an evil (outsider) demon, do the banes stack as they are from separate sources and differing types of bane that would both effect the same creature? (such as when people put multiple energy types on the same weapon, but they still stack for damage)

As the bane is not an enhancement bonus itself, but a modification of one, it should stack with anything on the weapon. I would reason that the two differing types of bane would add together only in instances in which they both applied, of course, but would be similar to the elemental damage rules where differing types do stack.

My question is more in relation to the differing sources (ability vs. weapon already imbued). If this makes bane viable two ways, then the damage is a no brainer, but does this in fact function the way that I think it does? Any input is very much welcomed.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

The double bane does not stack because the class specifically states

At 5th level, an inquisitor can imbue one of her weapons with the bane weapon special ability as a swift action.

So clearly both are the same source of bane and you cant stack them in anyway that you could benefit from both, except maybe a better caster level.

\$\endgroup\$
10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Both are being placed on the weapon, yes. However, one is magically imbued to the weapon upon creation and the other is an ability. This ability does not state anything about banes from differing sources not stacking. Is there somewhere in the rules that the rules do? This is what I was trying to find out. I do not believe your reference is entirely clear on this matter and await further information.Again, I reference the \$\endgroup\$
    – Krista
    May 20, 2016 at 4:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Again, I reference the elemental additions to swords as a parallel, two different element types stack, why not two bane types from alternate sources? Even if the +2 to weapon did not stack, I do not see why the damage would not as it is a differing type. Please explain further if I am missing something. \$\endgroup\$
    – Krista
    May 20, 2016 at 4:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Krista Because the source of both banes isn't the inquisitor himself nor the inquisitor's special ability nor, likewise, isn't the sword's creator nor the creator's spells that made the sword or whatever, but, in both cases, only the magic weapon special ability bane. A +1 flaming shocking sword deals an extra +1d6 points of fire damage and an extra +1d6 points of electrical damage, but a +1 flaming flaming sword still deals but an extra +1d6 fire damage and, therefore, a +1 outsider (demon) bane outsider (demon) bane longsword deals only an extra +2d6 points of damage to demons. \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2016 at 6:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, you reference the elemental additions. Notice how there are multiple elemental additions and only one bane? So while they are similar, they are not the same. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    May 20, 2016 at 13:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Actually there are numerous types of bane, evil outsider, demon, elf, etc. The list goes on. At the time of forging a weapon only one can be chosen. Mythic bane, for instance specifically says it stacks with other banes, does that mean an inquisitor with the bane ability is in no way truly helping himself by having a bane weapon, as those slots could be used for other things and they don't stack? \$\endgroup\$
    – Krista
    May 21, 2016 at 0:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .