4
\$\begingroup\$

My GM and I are confused about whether you roll your Permanent or Temporary Gnosis when making a Gnosis Roll. What is the proper choice, and what pages specify it?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please specify edition you are using. Current answers assume Revised or older editions, but if you are using W20 rules the correct answer is quite the opposite. \$\endgroup\$ – eimyr May 22 '16 at 21:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ was assuming second edition, unfortunatly we dont have w20 though it would be handy to know the interpretation in each. Unfortunatly while white wolf made nice books with lovely fluff getting a straight answer from them is difficult. \$\endgroup\$ – Lorgenz Valcatta May 23 '16 at 5:17
6
\$\begingroup\$

This was a lot more complicated to find a book answer than I thought it would. In the end on page 126, you'll see it reference the "pool" and the "rating". You always roll your rating in a dice pool. The pool is how many points you have. On page 171, they also reference how many dice you can roll for "ratings" that go above 5 (Such as Willpower, Rage, and Gnosis).

This is out of Werewolf the Apocalypse's Revised core book.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It holds true for all of the world of darkness games where the names are similar for permanent and temporary stats (demon had the same problem with temporary and permanent faith and even for its humanity trait). Wish they were a bit more creative back then naming power stats and energy stats differently from each other. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas E. May 22 '16 at 8:55
2
\$\begingroup\$

Normally you use the permanent gnosis.

When rolling Rage, Gnosis or Willpower, do you roll temporary or permanent ratings?

Usually permanent, although some Storytellers prefer temporary. Either way is fine. The exception is Rage; you always roll temporary or permanent, whichever is higher.

This is answered in the Errata from the Storyteller's Handbook of Werewolf of 2002, page 21.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.