1
\$\begingroup\$

I was struck by the spell Sepia Snake Sigil and now I am Immobilized. What does this do, can I cast spell? Can I use abilities etc?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

As Hey I can Chan pointed out in the Rules compendium p.35

Immobilized

"An immobilized creature can’t move out of the space it was in when it became immobilized. It otherwise functions normally unless it’s flying. Immobilized fl ying creatures that have the ability to hover can maintain their initial altitude. All other flying creatures subjected to this condition descend at a rate of 20 feet per round until they reach the ground, taking no falling damage."

However it may not be the answer you are looking for.

You should put closer attention to the first part of spell effect.

Sepia Snake Sigil:

If the target fails its save, it is engulfed in a shimmering amber field of force[...].

While trapped in the amber field of force, the subject does not age, breathe, grow hungry, sleep, or regain spells. It is preserved in a state of suspended animation, unaware of its surroundings. It can be damaged by outside forces (and perhaps even killed), since the field provides no protection against physical injury. However, a dying subject does not lose hit points or become stable until the spell ends.

Basically you are like an insect, trapped inside an amber.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you have an official source? This is part of d&d wikia homebrew section. \$\endgroup\$ – Simon May 29 '16 at 16:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ Added source backing up what I found. I'm trying to locate the original entrie in the rules books \$\endgroup\$ – Nyakouai May 29 '16 at 16:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ As Hey I Can Chan pointed, the entry in the Rules Compendium: "Immobilized: An immobilized creature can’t move out of the space it was in when it became immobilized. It otherwise functions normally unless it’s fl ying. Immobilized fl ying creatures that have the ability to hover can maintain their initial altitude. All other flying creatures subjected to this condition descend at a rate of 20 feet per round until they reach the ground, taking no falling damage." I could post it, but it feel as stealing the answer from Hey I Can Chan \$\endgroup\$ – Nyakouai May 29 '16 at 16:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Would teleportation work vs this spell then? \$\endgroup\$ – Simon May 29 '16 at 16:56
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ The question was "What are the effects of being “Immobilized”?" Snake Sigil seems pretty straightforward. You are not in the "Immobilized" condition. You're in stase. Period. As to know if teleport would work is another matter. You can't cast it by yourself, that for sure \$\endgroup\$ – Nyakouai May 29 '16 at 17:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.