9
\$\begingroup\$

Based on this question, can you Counterspell a readied spell after the turn the original spell is cast as normal, but before the trigger occurs, while you hold its energy using your concentration?

Ready (PHB p. 193)

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration.


Note that while this and the linked question are related, as an affirmative answer to either of them would strongly imply a negative answer to the other one, they are not duplicates, as there is a possibility (which I am interested in) that both of them could have an affirmative or negative answer at the same time.

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

No

Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you see a creature within 60 feet of you casting a spell

With a Ready action, the creature casts a spell on its turn and holds it until the trigger; Counterspell must be used when they cast i.e. on their turn. You can Counterspell a spell that uses a Ready action, it just has to be on the caster's turn and not after.

As an aside, because Ready uses an action, you cannot use it to cast a bonus action or a reaction spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ To confirm, you can still counterspell it when the ready action is announced, correct? Just not after the that turn is over but before the trigger. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch May 31 '16 at 17:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Best thing to do then, to counter the spell, is simply make them lose concentration. \$\endgroup\$ – Jason_c_o May 31 '16 at 23:17
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/893272974601502720 this might also reinforce your answer \$\endgroup\$ – Olorin Aug 4 '17 at 10:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.