9
\$\begingroup\$

I have a Light Domain Cleric who gets, as part of the Light Domain, the Burning Hands spell. Can I cast this spell while carrying a shield?

I subscribe to the idea that one physically must touch one's thumbs together and spread one's fingers per the spell as the somatic component of the spell. Is it reasonable to think that a Cleric with a shield strapped to their arm is able to make such a gesture and not burn their own shield?

\$\endgroup\$
0
11
\$\begingroup\$

If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. [PHB, pg. 203]

You do not have free use of a hand if that hand is holding a shield. If you rule that Burning Hands requires free use of two hands to perform its somatic component, then by default you cannot cast it while also holding a shield.

The War Caster feat, of course, allows casting while holding weapons and/or a shield.

\$\endgroup\$
0
5
\$\begingroup\$

There is actually an answer from Jeremy Crawford that might answer this question.

can a Cleric or Paladin cast spells requiring somatic components when wielding weapon + shield emblazoned with holy symbol?

I'd say yes if the holy symbol is being used as the material component of the spell, so yes if "S, M," but no if only "S." -J

Since the Burning Hands spell does not require a material, the shield cannot be used as the somatic component.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.