3
\$\begingroup\$

Can I do at maximum 78 dmg in one turn with the following stats?

Warlock level 11 stats:

  • Spellcasting modifier: Charisma 20 equals +5
  • Eldritch Invocations: Agonizing Blast
  • 1 magic stone max: 1d6 + 5 equals max 11
  • 1 eldritch blast : 1d10 + 5 (of agonizing blast) equals max 15

So because I'm level 11 and assuming the 3 stones that I send at the same time that I'm sending the eldritch blast because it's a ranged spell attack it's 45+33 equals 78 max.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Eldritch blast can't send anything - it only targets creatures. If you cast it on a stone then nothing will happen. \$\endgroup\$ – Greenstone Walker Jun 2 '16 at 4:03
18
\$\begingroup\$

No

Enchanting the stones is a bonus action, but you need another action to throw or hurl them.

Attacking with a ranged weapon is an action, so is casting Eldritch blast. Furthermore if you don't have Extra attack or Multiattack: Volley you can throw just one stone in an action.

This means, you can throw/hurl stones or use eldritch blast in one action. You would need another action to do the other thing.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you clarify that each stone needs a ranged spell attack (which is an action) in order to do damage? You cannot throw them all at once \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Jun 1 '16 at 21:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @PremierBromanov Read carefully. "You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling." With one of the pebbles \$\endgroup\$ – Momonga-sama Jun 1 '16 at 21:21
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I think the confusion comes from @likewyise reading the description as if : "You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack [along] with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling". It's clear from the grammar that throwing the pebble is the ranged spell attack, not something done in addition to or as a contingency of a separate ranged spell attack. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jun 1 '16 at 21:44
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ But that's not how it reads. The ranged spell attack you are making refers to the actual attack with the stone, not making a different ranged spell attack. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jun 1 '16 at 21:51
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I think you are reading something into the cantrip that isn't there. It's a way to make little magical missiles that you can use yourself or let a friend use. They are not something done in addition to an entirely separate spell. When you attack someone with them, they attack magically, using the caster's spell attack bonus instead of a normal missile weapon attack. That's why it specifies whose bonus is used when making the attack. It uses the caster's spell attack bonus. It literally says "make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling" \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jun 1 '16 at 21:58
6
\$\begingroup\$

This is incorrect.

The Magic Stone cantrip is not triggered by a ranged spell attack. It allows you to use a bonus action to create a small supply of magical stones that you can use to attack people using the mechanic of a ranged spell attack. The "ranged spell attack" in the cantrip description is the act of using the stone you created at casting time. It has nothing to do with the casting of another spell.

You could cast the cantrip as a bonus action, and then use your Action to make a ranged spell attack and throw one of the stones or to cast Eldritch Blast.

However, you could not both cast Eldritch Blast and throw a stone in a single turn. It might be possible if you double classed with a second class that grants you a second attack, since throwing or shooting the stone is a "ranged spell attack" and not "casting a spell". This is not the case with a straight 11th level warlock, though.

This is upheld by a question asked of Jeremy Crawford, presumably by someone here, since the wording is so similar.

The conversation goes back and forth for a bit, but the pertinent quotes are:

Jeremy Crawford: Eldritch blast doesn't hurl objects

Jeremy Crawford:The act of hurling a magic stone is the ranged spell attack.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ regarding the second paragraph, why can't you cast them together? both are cantrips, one has a casting time of a bonus action and the other a casting time of 1 action. \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Jun 2 '16 at 3:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is correct. I hadn't considered that. I have amended. And thanks for the grammar fixes. I was typing that in a hurry. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jun 2 '16 at 4:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @likewyise Sorry if the quote from Crawford was a breach of etiquette. I didn't go searching it out. I regularly follow his feed and that jumped out at me, given the earlier discussion. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jun 2 '16 at 4:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.