1
\$\begingroup\$

My character swung Tarzan-style on off a bridge using a rope to try and land on an opposite ledge. He didn't make the skill checks to get to the ledge, but passed the tumble check on the fall and only ended up with some nonlethal damage.

He said I couldn't try again without passing a will save (which I failed).

So I had to roleplay accordingly. Was the DM right in preventing this attempt?

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This is basically asking for opinions. There's no rule covering this, your GM made a judgement call. In a certain sense the GM is always right, take his rulings with good grace. Would folks here have done that, some yes, some no. Is there a real problem we can solve for you (besides a need for validation)? \$\endgroup\$
    – mxyzplk
    Jun 3 '16 at 0:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mxyzplk I get that this an opinion question and less of a rule question, but I was hoping to canvas the collective experience of the people here. Is there a better or more proper venue for this question? I suppose I am just looking for validation. I did put up a little bit of a stink over it, but as always DM has final say. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 3 '16 at 0:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I suppose it is related to rpg.stackexchange.com/q/80865/28926 \$\endgroup\$ Jun 3 '16 at 1:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ If you are looking for validation, a forum might be the place to go. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 3 '16 at 1:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Or you can come and discuss it with us in chat \$\endgroup\$
    – Asteria
    Jun 3 '16 at 1:50

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.