4
\$\begingroup\$

What happens if you have an advantage on attack and you get 20 on both rolls. Does it differ from regular critical or not?

For example: - on virtual table, like roll20 when you score two criticals, there are two rolls for critical damage.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there a particular reason for the downvotes? Please explain why you felt it was not a good question \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Jun 4 '16 at 17:58
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @PremierBromanov Downvotes on short rules questions tend to mean “this has a trivial/obvious answer found by reading the rule again.” That would fit in this case. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jun 5 '16 at 4:33
27
\$\begingroup\$

There Is No Difference

When [you have advantage], you roll a second d20 when you make the roll. Use the higher of the two rolls… (PH 173).

Even though you're rolling two dice, you are only using one of them, and thus it's a normal, everyday, vanilla critical hit.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 19
    \$\begingroup\$ But you should take special note of the second die--it's clearly an overachiever. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jun 4 '16 at 14:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.