4
\$\begingroup\$

I want to use a whip to attack and/or trip or disarm, Then move in with an axe or other weapon for damage on the prone opponent ( or to have if someone closes, my DM still plays by the rules that a whip is a reach weapon and cannot be used against an adjacent square) So Whip in main hand and weapon in off hand? or Whip in off hand and weapon in main hand?

AND the big question

Do I need two-weapon fighting feat tree, if I am not going to use both at the same time?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @FrancisJohn Please use answer posts to answer, and save commenting for messages intended to help fix posts. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jun 5 '16 at 4:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you insist on not using both at the same time or did you just thought it will be more easy no to do it ? Remember you can do a 5-foot-step toward your opponent in the middle of your full-round action to finish him with your axe. \$\endgroup\$ – Anne Aunyme Jun 6 '16 at 12:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This isn't totally related, but the whip rules state: "The whip is treated as a melee weapon with a 15-foot reach, though you don't threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes). So RAW, your DM is wrong about the reach thing. \$\endgroup\$ – BaseHobo Jun 6 '16 at 14:59
4
\$\begingroup\$

You don't need the feats. The hands don't matter.

Pathfinder only draws a primary hand / offhand distinction when fighting with two weapons in the same round. (Whether you can change which hand is your offhand each round or if one hand is always primary and the other always your offhand, the rules are silent about; but that won't matter in your case.) When you're attacking with only one weapon in a given round, there is no offhand or offhand penalty.

Unless your GM changes that, of course. I wouldn't, personally - you're already sacrificing the ability to use shields and two-handed weapons (and presumably a feat or special feature to get whip proficiency) for just a little versatility, AND they've already house-ruled an additional penalty on top of your "can't hit 50% of the Bestiary because armor" whip (it's not a reach weapon, it's a ranged weapon!), but they could.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What do you mean at the end when you said "can't hit because armor?" \$\endgroup\$ – FrancisJohn Jun 5 '16 at 11:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ A whip deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Jun 5 '16 at 12:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Never used a whip, didn't realize that. Can you still trip/disarm them? \$\endgroup\$ – FrancisJohn Jun 5 '16 at 12:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @FrancisJohn Yes, just can't do damage. On-hit magic works too, so spell storing or flaming etc. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Jun 5 '16 at 14:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ There are methods of bypassing the inability do deal damage with a whip, if you want. Using a Scorpion Whip or the Feat Whip Mastery come to mind. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Jun 9 '17 at 20:30
2
\$\begingroup\$

You don't need the Two Weapon Fighting feat tree. You could:

  1. use the whip in your primary hand, then
  2. drop the whip once your opponent is tripped/prone/disarmed, then
  3. draw the axe or other weapon for free as part of movement if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher, then
  4. move to close.

With the Quick Draw feat you can draw the subsequent weapon as a free action. It's overkill to take that feat, unless you truly want to use your move action for something else other than drawing a weapon.

This allows you to use your secondary hand for a shield or map or torch or whatever.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You do not need Quick Draw if you are moving to close. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. \$\endgroup\$ – Ols Jun 4 '16 at 23:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's a good point, and one I had forgotten. I'm going to edit my answer to re-tool the reference to Quick Draw. \$\endgroup\$ – StandardEyre Jun 5 '16 at 0:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ While I disagree with the need to put the second weapon in the first hand anyway (hence my separate answer), I would point out that since the OP has already specified he's holding a weapon in each hand, he'll never need Quick Draw since switching a weapon between hands is a free action as long as the other hand is free. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Jun 5 '16 at 0:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.