The Cortex rules generally say that you should "subtract your complication to a roll in certain situations". What exactly does this mean?
The two ways I can interpret it is:
- Step penalties equivalent to half your die score. So, if you have a d2 in Cowardice, then if you are making a d10 Willpower / d6 Influence roll, you roll a d8+d6.
- A marked die that you subtract from your final score. So, if you have a d2 in Cowardice, then if you are making a d10 Willpower / d6 Influence roll, you roll a (d10+d6)-d2.
Option #2 is a bit more complicated, but the players like the increased variability and potential for absolute SNAFU, so that's what we've house ruled. We've also ruled that any roll that results in a 0 or less is a critical failure.
But, it would be nice to know the official rule. Ideas?