-5
\$\begingroup\$

If a player was to cast bestow curse and apply it onto a creatures wisdom ability score as written they would have disadvantage on ability checks and saving throws made with wisdom. Although if the creature had an advantage on wisdom ability checks and saving throws would they still have disadvantage or would they cancel out as another rule states.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have much reason to believe they would not cancel out? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jun 8 '16 at 5:42
10
\$\begingroup\$

Disadvantage cancels out advantage and vice versa.

Unless a specific rule you're looking at says otherwise, the standard rule for advantage and disadvantage applies. In this case, there's nothing that says the disadvantage from bestow curse negates other advantage in addition.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.