I'm here with a rather nitpicky question. We all know that when you have a regular mount in 5th edition you can't make it attack while controlling it.

But what happens if the mount could attack as a bonus action, as per the second part of trampling charge (DM Basic Rules, p. 48)?

Trampling Charge

[...]If the target is prone, the horse can make another attack with its hooves against it as a bonus action.

So this is where I'm going: We have a shield bashing Paladin whom often knocks opponents prone in combat. If I then move towards said prone opponent could I have my warhorse attack using its bonus action?

The mounted combat rules don't really say: "You can't use bonus actions". All they mention about actions under your control is: "[...] and it has only 3 action options [...]". In every way, this doesn't seem to tell me that if my mount gets a possible bonus action (which might be an attack), it wouldn't be able to perform it under my control.

In the bonus action explanation there is this mention: anything that deprives you of your ability of taking actions, also prevents you from making bonus actions. But I guess this has nothing to do with specific actions and rather conditions like paralyzed.

So what do you think? Is it legit?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I found your question quite rambling (especially at the beginning), so I tried to trim it down a bit and make it more concise. If you don't like it, feel free to roll back the edit using the revision history, or edit the question yourself. \$\endgroup\$ – MrLemon Jun 10 '16 at 11:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Nah it's super good, thanks for making it more clear :D \$\endgroup\$ – Rutger Jun 10 '16 at 12:21


The Trampling Charge is an entire feature the second sentence hinges entirely on the first; you must make the hooves attack. However, if the target of the hooves attack were already prone then a) the saving throw to avoid being knocked prone is moot and b) you get the second attack automatically.

None of this can happen unless the horse is acting independently.; which is only possible if it is intelligent and you let it act independently when you mount it. If 2 counts as intelligent is a DM call.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh, well yes, that's right. The Warhorse's entry makes it very clear. Other trampling charges (Elephants or Mammoths) don't make it as clear which got me confused. Thank you for clarifying this :) \$\endgroup\$ – Rutger Jun 10 '16 at 12:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ A little extra suestion since you mentioned Intelligence. How intelligent is a beast with Int3 in your opinion? When it comes down to mounts I might be able to obtain an elephant. \$\endgroup\$ – Rutger Jun 10 '16 at 12:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ That sounds like the seed of another question- why don't you ask it? \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jun 10 '16 at 21:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.