I'm here with a rather nitpicky question. We all know that when you have a regular mount in 5th edition you can't make it attack while controlling it.
But what happens if the mount could attack as a bonus action, as per the second part of trampling charge (DM Basic Rules, p. 48)?
[...]If the target is prone, the horse can make another attack with its hooves against it as a bonus action.
So this is where I'm going: We have a shield bashing Paladin whom often knocks opponents prone in combat. If I then move towards said prone opponent could I have my warhorse attack using its bonus action?
The mounted combat rules don't really say: "You can't use bonus actions". All they mention about actions under your control is: "[...] and it has only 3 action options [...]". In every way, this doesn't seem to tell me that if my mount gets a possible bonus action (which might be an attack), it wouldn't be able to perform it under my control.
In the bonus action explanation there is this mention: anything that deprives you of your ability of taking actions, also prevents you from making bonus actions. But I guess this has nothing to do with specific actions and rather conditions like paralyzed.
So what do you think? Is it legit?