0
\$\begingroup\$

In the DMG the Animate Dead and Create Undead spells state that

you must cast this spell on the creature before the current 24-hour period ends. This use of the spell reasserts your control over up to three creatures you have animated with this spell, rather than animating new ones. Or 4 if the spell is animate undead

However if I was to cast Create Undead which allows me to summon two mummies at a 9th level spell slot can I still use a level 6 spell slot to reassert control over them after the 24-hour period?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just so you know, the [rules-as-written] tag does not mean “I have a question about the rules”, so you don't need to put it on every question you ask. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jun 12 '16 at 3:07
8
\$\begingroup\$

You need a spell slot of the same level as it took to create them — you need a 9th-level spell slot to reassert control over mummies (PHB, p. 229):

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a 7th-level spell slot, you can animate or reassert control over four ghouls. When you cast this spell using an 8th-level spell slot, you can animate or reassert control over five ghouls or two ghasts or wights. When you cast this spell using a 9th-level spell slot, you can animate or reassert control over six ghouls, three ghasts or wights, or two mummies.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank. I guess its pretty expensive to keep two mummies around \$\endgroup\$ – Deahzgrexofe Jun 12 '16 at 5:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.