3
\$\begingroup\$

Supposing either a wizard acquires and deciphers the spellbook of a slain enemy, or an ally shows him an unfamiliar one — could the wizard copy said spell for his own use rather than from a spell scroll?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

See PHB p.114, "Your Spellbook." This sidebar describes all of the conditions necessary for copying a spell into your spellbook. None of the requirements (time, money, level) care about the storage medium of the spell you found.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.