11
\$\begingroup\$

Taking a random spell, I find Flames of Phlegethos. Its hit is 3d10 + Constitution modifier fire damage. Let's say the caster has a constitution score of 16, and he is level 2. This means his constitution modifier is +3 from his constitution score, and he has +1 from his half level.

Would his damage on this spell be 3d10 + 3 or would it be 3d10 + 4? The PHB doesn't seem to clarify this. Thanks!

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome @James! Luckily this question has been asked and answered before, so I've closed your question and merged it over to this one. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Jul 22 '12 at 1:09
10
\$\begingroup\$

No.
Ability modifiers are applied to damage, but half-level isn't. So, in your example, the Flames of Phlegethos would inflict 3d10+3 damage.

Half-level is applied to attack rolls because they are ability checks. As a more general rule, feel confident to add half you level to every d20 roll except saving throws and to every static number which usually stands against a d20 roll (like defenses).

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, it doesn't mean that.

In cases like the melee or ranged attacks, your relevant ability modifier (strength or dexterity) gets added to the damage, but there is no mention of your half-level. There doesn't really need to be either since as you're going along, you'll be finding more powerful weapons anyway (or weapons with +1's).

Just follow the formulas. Add your half-level if it says so, otherwise don't.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.