6
\$\begingroup\$

In the original White Plume Mountain,

at the end of one of the corridors (in area 27) there is an ogre mage named Qesnef, described as follows:

> AC: 1, HD: 5+2, MV: 9"/15", HP: 35, AT: 1, D: 1-12, SA: [irrelevant], SD: Regenerates 1 point per round also wears a Ring of Protection +3 on his left hand and a Ring of Mirror Images (5 charges) on his right.

How does one determine this monster's actual AC? In other words, is the Ring of Protection +3 already factored in to the listed AC of 1?

This sort of monster is usually AC 4, which would seem to imply that the Ring is factored in, but being a unique/named monster I wasn't sure if there was some special rule that applied.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

Stat blocks in AD&D adventures are always the final calculated values, whether they're named creatures or stock.

Qesnef has AC 1, as indicated.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.