6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm trying to find some clarification on something that seems a little vague to me: I'm going to be turning level 7 soon as a Paladin, and my oath gives me resistance against spell damage.

I'm not sure if breath attacks count as spells, since there is nothing to clarify either way IMO. The save DC for a dragonborn PC is calculated exactly the same way as a spell would, they deal the same types of damage as spells, and the DMG says dragons are innately magical, so does dragon breath count as spell damage for the purpose of Oath of Ancients spell damage resistance?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

A breath weapon is not a spell.

From the Dragonborn entry:

Breath Weapon: You can use your action to exhale destructive energy. Your draconic ancestry determines the size, shape, and damage type of the exhalation.

Spells require some combination of Verbal, Somatic, and Material components.
A breath weapon requires... exhalation...

The introduction to spellcasting says:

Spell Level

Every spell has a level from 0 to 9.

A breath weapon doesn't have a level. Therefore, it is not a spell.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough, the fact it doesnt have a level makes sense. \$\endgroup\$ – Traum Jun 30 '16 at 5:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ Very nice duck-typing. If it doesn't quack like a duck, it ain't a duck! \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Jun 30 '16 at 21:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.