8
\$\begingroup\$

The dnd5e starter set explains that when you levelup you are rolling for your additional hp you gain. But for the sheets is stated, that you get 1 additional die with each level.

Now for me the following isn't clear: Does this mean with each levelup I roll an additional die? Like for lvling up to 2 rolling 1d8 to determine the increase and leveling to level 3 rolling 2d8 to determine the next increase?

Or is this just another wording for "Don't forget that with each level your HP increase!"

\$\endgroup\$
2

1 Answer 1

19
\$\begingroup\$

They are two separate things. Let's say you are a Rogue (1d8). When you level up, you roll 1d8 to determine your HP increment, no matter what your level is. Also, you have a reserve of dice (d8). When you perform a short rest, you can roll one or more of those dice in order to recover HP. The higher your level, the larger your dice reserve (at each levelup, you get 1 additional die for this reserve).

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .