In the MM page 122, nothing is mentioned about needing to maintain concentration, and there is no wording to indicate a duergar's Enlarge ability is a spell.

This is in contrast to the duergar's Invisibility action that explicitly says it must maintain concentration.

So, my interpretation is that this is some sort of innate magical ability, not a spell, and thus wouldn't require concentration. Is this about right, or am I missing something?


1 Answer 1


Your interpretation is right

The enlarge ability is a magical ability, but it doesn't mention the necessity of maintaining concentration, neither does it refer to any spell (you might think of "Enlarge/Reduce", which would require concentration). So all requirements and all effects of this ability are mentioned in the action.

It does not require concentration or components (verbal, somatic or materials). The ability lasts one minute and can only used on himself.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Cool, thanks!A player was complaining how I wasn't having my duergar (I'm the DM) do concentration checks to maintain their Enlarge. I explained that it wasn't a spell and didn't work that way. He then whipped out the Sword Coast Adventurers Guide and pointed at page 104 where it talks about duergar as a playable race. In that entry it is explicitly a spell. I explained that there is a difference between a stat block in the MM and stuff created for characters to play. He didn't like this explanation. \$\endgroup\$
    – Taters
    Jul 3, 2016 at 19:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ You could point out for example, that drow monsters get poison crossbows, but drow characters don't have access to that particular poison. It is nowhere buyable in the PHB. It is also re-usable, whereas PC poisons are generally 1 use. Likewise, all of the NPCs in the back of the MM use different rules than similar PCs. Monsters have different rules. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 22, 2017 at 21:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .