The Wild Magic result on 27-28 is

For the next minute, all your spells with a casting time of 1 action have a casting time of 1 bonus action.

Does this mean that you can only cast spells (other than reaction spells) as a bonus action, and that you can't use your action to cast one normally?

I am specifically asking whether or not your spells with a casting time of 1 action can still be cast with an action, or whether the effect absolutely replaces the casting time rather than expanding your options.

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Duplicate (?): Can I use a spell with a casting time of bonus action as my action \$\endgroup\$
    – Thyzer
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 23:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Thyzer That is suspiciously similar, I will admit. But I am more asking about the verbiage of the effect, since I already knew the other part that the other question asks. \$\endgroup\$
    – Javelin
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 23:08

1 Answer 1


Yes, this means those spells no longer have a casting of time of one Action, as it's been changed to Bonus Action. You don't have a choice of which to use, since they can no longer be cast using your Action.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Just to add to this, it does indeed expand your options, you can activate a magic item as your action and still cast something like fireball or other full cast spell. To be perfectly honest if you have the right gear this could be scary. \$\endgroup\$
    – Slagmoth
    Commented Jul 6, 2016 at 18:23

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .