The Wild Magic result on 27-28 is

For the next minute, all your spells with a casting time of 1 action have a casting time of 1 bonus action.

Does this mean that you can only cast spells (other than reaction spells) as a bonus action, and that you can't use your action to cast one normally?

I am specifically asking whether or not your spells with a casting time of 1 action can still be cast with an action, or whether the effect absolutely replaces the casting time rather than expanding your options.


Yes, this means those spells no longer have a casting of time of one Action, as it's been changed to Bonus Action. You don't have a choice of which to use, since they can no longer be cast using your Action.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Just to add to this, it does indeed expand your options, you can activate a magic item as your action and still cast something like fireball or other full cast spell. To be perfectly honest if you have the right gear this could be scary. \$\endgroup\$
    – Slagmoth
    Jul 6 '16 at 18:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.