5
\$\begingroup\$

I am in the process of creating a custom item and I have hit another snag. This time with the spell I'm putting on it: Divine insight (1/day command word activate).

For reference this is the part I'm having trouble with:

This spell grants you an insight bonus equal to 5 + your caster level (maximum bonus of +15) on any single skill check.

So my question is, when activated from a magical item, does the Bonus applied use my own caster level or the items caster level?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ What system/edition, please? \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jul 10 '16 at 12:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Added the 3.5 system tag, sorry, is early. Mind isn't working so well just yet... mmm coffee \$\endgroup\$ – Zakier Jul 10 '16 at 12:48
5
\$\begingroup\$

The item’s caster level, which you have to pay for since the formula for a 1/day command-word items is \$spell\ level \times caster\ level \times 1,800\text{ gp} \div 5\$. The only items that allow you to use your own stats to activate a magical effect are psicrowns, scepters (Lost Empires of Faerûn), and staves.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Alright so I did it correctly. Just one of those moments where an effects wording causes confusion when I'm conjunction with rules \$\endgroup\$ – Zakier Jul 10 '16 at 13:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.